Holy, New Year!

Holy, New Year!

Just like that, another year bites the dust. 2014 felt like a flash and I’m so blinded with excitement over 2015 that I can’t muster the focus to do a mini year-in-review.

Big changes are underway for this new year… and I’m not just talking about my entree into the world of cooking indian food (which was the perfect new year’s day project because it resulted in a yummy dal for dinner).

No, I’m talking about much bigger things. Like, if all goes as planned, 2015 will be the year Alex and I become parents. Too much woah there for this blog post. We’re excited and terrified and totally lost… all the things new parents are supposed to be (or at least that’s what I’m telling myself). We couldn’t have asked for better family and friends to support us while we figure out this next step in our lives together. And, for now, I’m trying to take it one day at a time to avoid losing my mind. My current challenge? Figuring out this whole maternity clothes situation. Not easy when you have lovely thick lady thighs. But I digress.

The prospect of parenthood has also had the happy side effect of making us more conscious about how we’re spending our time together. Maybe it’s because we’re staring down the barrel of years of sleepless nights, but we’ve gotten into the awesome habit of spending less time just occupying the same space and zoning out together.

Now our evenings are spent reading, playing board games, listening to music or podcasts, just chatting. And, after an exhausting first trimester that probably saw a total of 12 waking hours, our weekends have finally filled out to include weekly hikes. Last week we traveled to the east bay and climbed over Tilden Park; today, we headed north to the Marin Headlands for a couple off-trail hikes that left us happily worn and completely numb from cold.

Which brings me to what I’m doing this afternoon… writing. Fun, right? I finished my super fun book club book (you fail to finish three of the first four assigned books and suddenly you’re seen as the weak link? harsh) and figured I’d get some typing in before putting dinner on. It would be great to slip back into journaling over this next year. There are going to be so many milestones and I don’t want to lose them all in another flash of a year like 2014. Fingers crossed, I’ll be doing this a lot more!

One thought on “Holy, New Year!

Leave a comment